Gear issues

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
robert17

Gear issues

Postby robert17 » 6 Oct 2018, 8:35am

People,

I am an average home mechanic but am now a little frustrated. My 105/Ultegra set up is not changing as well as I'd like. In essence moving to an easier sprocket is hesitant on gears 6-10, but fine 1-5. I have changed cables and gone through the usual barrel adjuster caper, but no joy. It is not awful and an managing but know if could be better. Any ideas? Thank you.

Robert.

Cugel

Re: Gear issues

Postby Cugel » 6 Oct 2018, 9:41am

robert17 wrote:People,

I am an average home mechanic but am now a little frustrated. My 105/Ultegra set up is not changing as well as I'd like. In essence moving to an easier sprocket is hesitant on gears 6-10, but fine 1-5. I have changed cables and gone through the usual barrel adjuster caper, but no joy. It is not awful and an managing but know if could be better. Any ideas? Thank you.

Robert.

Robert,

Gear adjustments for derailleurs require the fettling of a number of things, not just the barrel adjuster and cable attachments or path. There are dozens of how-tos on the interweb that will show you all the steps and operations of adjustment. Pick the one(s) that are most clear to your preferred education-absorption modes.

There are a few things about the design of the frame that can make it harder to adjust rear derailleurs to their optimum, notably chainstay length. Very short chainstays mean bigger angles-of-deflection of the chain, for example. There can also be problems if the chainline is not central to the cassette because of a strange bottom-bracket width or an unusual rear drop-out gap.

Sometimes the gear parts themselves can be an issue. Sticky cables in outers, guides or around bends; slightly bent rear derailleur jockey-wheel arm; dirt-jammed jockey wheel.

All those things need looking at and, if necessary, fettling.

CUgel

foxyrider

Postby foxyrider » 6 Oct 2018, 10:46am