Changing wheel size

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
buddhahat

Changing wheel size

Post by buddhahat »

Hi - Newbie here,

I'm after a good all round bike that can handle a little bit of off-road if need be.

Research has led me to the Marin Four Corners which seems a good all rounder.

But I also like the look of the Marin Nicasio (plus it's cheaper).

The Nicasio is a road bike but I'm reading that you can change the wheel size from 700c to 650b to potentially accommodate thicker 'off-road' tyres.

Is this a costly/complex change? I presume I'd also have to tweak the gears and all sorts. Or maybe buy other parts besides the new wheels?!

Any advice would be most appreciated - thank you!
mcshroom

Re: Changing wheel size

Post by mcshroom »

If you are switching purely to 650b then you would need new wheels and tyres. The hubs are still in the middle, whatever the wheel size, so the gears wouldn't need touching. You may need to re centre the brakes if the disc isn't in exactly the same place.

If you are keeping a 700c set as well, then you would need an extra cassette and new discs that are the same size as the current ones. It wouldn't be a massive or expensive change.

However, how big do you want to go? Google says that it can take a 40mm tyre on 700c, and you might find that a 38/40mm tyre on the 700c rims will be enough. I'm quite happy playing on Lake District farm tracks and forestry roads on 38mm Gravelking SKs.
buddhahat

Post by buddhahat »

Hi McShroom,

This is really helpful info - thanks so much.

Best,

Ben
Carlton green

Post by Carlton green »

Just a very general comment in case other posters act on information here.

A brief check shows that your bike has disk brakes but for those using rim breaks the change in rim size moves the breaking surface and that might give problems.