Cantilever brakes

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
TamLum74

Cantilever brakes

Post by TamLum74 »

Hi to all in the forum
I am fairly new to cycling as an adult i recently bought a 2012 giant tcx2 with tektro cantilever brakes i have no interest in riding off road and was wandering what brakes i could get to replace the cantilever brakes as i dont find them very good im using 32mm commuter type tyres not sure if a road style caliper would reach the rim or if mini v brakes would be better

Thanks in advance for any advice

I'm a trendy consumer. Just look at my SM-G960F using hovercraft full of eels.
Brucey

Re: Cantilever brakes

Post by Brucey »

you need to say what levers you have before you can say whether any given brake is liable to be suitable or not. Very probably your brakes need a good setup and a good service, rather than replacement.

Photos of your current brakes/levers would be useful.

cheers
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Brucey~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
pwa

Post by pwa »

Cantis appear on bikes where a normal road bike caliper brake would not have enough clearance for the tyres. I think it is fair to say that most manufacturers are now dealing with that issue by installing disc brakes. Vee brakes are an alternative to cantis, but as Brucey says, you need a bit more information before anyone can say whether or not you can just put some mini vees on.

Cantis can be good if you set them up just right. Unfortunately it does take a bit of learning.
Sweep

Post by Sweep »

pwa wrote:Cantis appear on bikes where a normal road bike caliper brake would not have enough clearance for the tyres. I think it is fair to say that most manufacturers are now dealing with that issue by installing disc brakes. Vee brakes are an alternative to cantis, but as Brucey says, you need a bit more information before anyone can say whether or not you can just put some mini vees on.