Tubeless tyres .... What I've learned so far

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
dim

Tubeless tyres .... What I've learned so far

Post by dim »

I've been using tubeless for a few years now .....

what I've learned so far: (hope this helps for people sitting on the fence):

only use tubeless ready rims (you can use tubeless tyres aswell as regular clincher tyres and tubeless tyres work great with inner tubes aswell)

the wider the tyre, the more effective the sealant works as the wider tyres use less pressure

if you struggle to seat your tubeless tyre for the first time, add sealant to the tyre before pumping it up .... it always works, but use a track pump

buy a decent pump for when on the road (this is very important) ... a tiny pump that fits in the palm of your hand will not help you

use decent sealant I use Orange regular and not the endurance version as the regular version seals larger holes... if you live in countries that get extreme cold conditions, orange selant endurance (and there's another version for even colder climates), is what is needed (check the orange sealnt website for details)... Here in the UK, the regular version is OK for the whole year

get the dynaplug racer kit ... expensive at first as it includes the special tool that holds the insert, but then you just buy the inserts/worms which are cheap (check youtube on how easy it is to use)

whenever you pump your tyres, rotate the wheel so that the valve is at the 10 or 11 O'clock position ....(this allows the sealant to be far away from the valve

once youve added sealant and pumped your tyres and all seems ok, spin the wheel a few times, or go for a ride so as to spread the sealant all around the tyre