Front mech cable set up query

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
David9694
Posts: 393
Joined: 10 Feb 2018, 8:42am

Front mech cable set up query

Postby David9694 » 10 Feb 2020, 11:12pm

91A2A062-206A-409F-B146-C6CDE95A7B8A.jpeg
My bodge - under the b/b


I’m setting up a refurb I did a few months ago, my foray into coachlining. It must be quite an old frame - e.g. no bottle bosses. There are twin gear cable stops at the bottom of the down tube. For the rear, there is a corresponding stop atop the chainstay (visible). I’ve bodged the front gear cable under the b/b, but it’s clearly also intended to have run over it, however that’s where the trail goes cold. I seem to be missing a stop somewhere here?

User avatar
531colin
Posts: 12563
Joined: 4 Dec 2009, 6:56pm
Location: North Yorkshire

Re: Front mech cable set up query

Postby 531colin » 11 Feb 2020, 3:56pm

Front mechs. of that period had a stop for the cable outer.
Image
http://www.classiclightweights.co.uk/components/campag-front-cable.JPG

tatanab
Posts: 3854
Joined: 8 Feb 2007, 12:37pm

Re: Front mech cable set up query

Postby tatanab » 11 Feb 2020, 4:08pm

I had that recently with a fairly modern frame, built 1985. I did not want to run the cable under the bottom bracket and did not want to search for a suitable front mech either, so I used a single cable stop on the seat tube https://www.sjscycles.co.uk/gear-spares ... er-286-mm/ and normal/modern front mech from my box of bits.

David9694
Posts: 393
Joined: 10 Feb 2018, 8:42am

Re: Front mech cable set up query - resolved

Postby David9694 » 14 Feb 2020, 10:27pm

Sorted with this advice and for £5.39 from EBay - thanks

fastpedaller
Posts: 2280
Joined: 10 Jul 2014, 1:12pm
Location: Norfolk

Re: Front mech cable set up query

Postby fastpedaller » 14 Feb 2020, 11:00pm

Another method would be to drill and tap the bottom of the BB shell m5 and use a modern plastic cable guide and bare cable run - would need careful alignment before drilling/tapping though.