Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
robert17
Posts: 271
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 1:41pm
Location: Worcs

Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby robert17 » 26 Mar 2020, 8:13pm

People, my new secondhand bike is Campagnolo fitted, which I'm really pleased with. However the nice cyclist in Notts I got it from told me that the bottom bracket was the original and being six years old was in need of replacing. He even gave me a new one in the box. It is a power torque variety. Now having done my research, I appear to need a special tool or two. Can anyone verify what I will need to remove/replace the chainset and the bottom bracket. Thank you in advance.

Robert.

User avatar
The utility cyclist
Posts: 3486
Joined: 22 Aug 2016, 12:28pm
Location: The first garden city

Re: Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby The utility cyclist » 26 Mar 2020, 9:35pm

sell the whole bike on to some poor other soul to deal with :lol:
You're better off taking it to a bike shop and taking the hit, one of the worst designs, which is a shame really as the Campag kit looks lovely and is supposed to same functionality wise, it was because of the whole BB thing that put me off from buying.
GL

robert17
Posts: 271
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 1:41pm
Location: Worcs

Re: Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby robert17 » 26 Mar 2020, 9:50pm

Thanks. I returned to Campagnolo after years of grappling with 105 and Ultegra. Always having to adjust and wearing quickly. I may indeed ask a shop to do it, but would rather not.

User avatar
Mick F
Spambuster
Posts: 50064
Joined: 7 Jan 2007, 11:24am
Location: Tamar Valley, Cornwall

Re: Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby Mick F » 26 Mar 2020, 10:10pm

Watch and read this.
Seems a simple system to me.

https://www.campagnolo.com/UK/en/Techno ... que_system
Mick F. Cornwall

Valbrona
Posts: 2356
Joined: 7 Feb 2011, 4:49pm

Re: Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby Valbrona » 26 Mar 2020, 10:36pm

If you undo/remove the LH crank bolt the LH crank arm stays in place. You need some kind of 'PowerTorque' crank puller to remove it, exactly like the one Campagnolo has never made.

Cyclus make one. Expensive.
I should coco.

AndyK
Posts: 937
Joined: 17 Aug 2007, 2:08pm

Re: Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby AndyK » 27 Mar 2020, 12:17am

Valbrona wrote:If you undo/remove the LH crank bolt the LH crank arm stays in place. You need some kind of 'PowerTorque' crank puller to remove it, exactly like the one Campagnolo has never made.

Cyclus make one. Expensive.


Unior do a complete set of tools for this job (they'll also do Ultra Torque) available for a slightly more reasonable £65. https://www.tredz.co.uk/.Unior-Campagno ... 104257.htm

When I had to remove one some years back I bought a Facom U.301 puller and the Campag UT-FC090 Power Torque removal disc (a small disc of metal that costs more than £15) - it was the cheapest solution I could find at the time and worked perfectly. My cranks were alloy; with carbon ones you need to protect the crank somehow. Campag sell a set of little pieces of card for this, again at a silly price. I lent the tools to a friend recently and the Facom puller broke under the strain of trying to remove his crank, so maybe something a bit more robust would be better.

The crankset was very nice and worked well, but I was so annoyed by the faff of removing it that I swapped to traditional square taper and a Stronglight chainset instead.

philvantwo
Posts: 1096
Joined: 8 Dec 2012, 6:08pm

Re: Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby philvantwo » 27 Mar 2020, 6:31am

It's not simple to change the bearings at all mick f! Campagnolo don't even make the tools, only 4 teams in last years tour used campag on their bikes which says it all really.

robert17
Posts: 271
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 1:41pm
Location: Worcs

Re: Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby robert17 » 27 Mar 2020, 6:38am

Many thanks, having a shop remove it then swap over to a good quality square taper seems like a good idea. Any good suggestions out there? Stronglight seems the obvious choice, although I have a Spa own on my tourer that has been great. It is currently a Veloce 10 50/34. Thanks again.

User avatar
geomannie
Posts: 640
Joined: 13 May 2009, 6:07pm

Re: Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby geomannie » 27 Mar 2020, 7:56am

robert17 wrote:Many thanks, having a shop remove it then swap over to a good quality square taper seems like a good idea. Any good suggestions out there? Stronglight seems the obvious choice, although I have a Spa own on my tourer that has been great. It is currently a Veloce 10 50/34. Thanks again.


If you fancy a Stronglight crankset, these are a very good buy at the moment, less than half price.
https://spacycles.co.uk/m2b0s109p3/STRO ... act-Triple
https://spacycles.co.uk/m2b0s109p45/STR ... act-Double
geomannie

robert17
Posts: 271
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 1:41pm
Location: Worcs

Re: Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby robert17 » 28 Mar 2020, 10:05pm

geomannie wrote:
robert17 wrote:Many thanks, having a shop remove it then swap over to a good quality square taper seems like a good idea. Any good suggestions out there? Stronglight seems the obvious choice, although I have a Spa own on my tourer that has been great. It is currently a Veloce 10 50/34. Thanks again.


If you fancy a Stronglight crankset, these are a very good buy at the moment, less than half price.
https://spacycles.co.uk/m2b0s109p3/STRO ... act-Triple
https://spacycles.co.uk/m2b0s109p45/STR ... act-Double


Would the RD-2 and TD-2 sets work too. Would prefer as black. Thank you.

Racingt
Posts: 108
Joined: 23 Oct 2015, 6:45am

Re: Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby Racingt » 30 Mar 2020, 4:35pm

I had the same problem in February - didn't want to buy a special tool for removing something for the last time.
LBS removed it and fitted my new chainset for £30.
But one LBS didn't have the tool, the mobile mechanic didn't carry one other, so it took 3 calls before I found somewhere.
If you like the chainset, I wouldn't necessarily change it unless you are contemplating huge miles, because £30 + a new bb every few years isn't a terrible overhead.

robert17
Posts: 271
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 1:41pm
Location: Worcs

Re: Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby robert17 » 31 Mar 2020, 8:42pm

I plumped for the tools. Most of the reasoning being that the current state of life means that I could do with a project. Thank you all.

robert17
Posts: 271
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 1:41pm
Location: Worcs

Re: Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby robert17 » 1 Apr 2020, 6:22pm

What prompted all of this was creaking from the bottom bracket. Now the 14mm Allen I need arrived today and I removed the crank bolt. There should be a washer in between the bolt and axle - it was absent. Could this cause a creak?

Brucey
Posts: 41009
Joined: 4 Jan 2012, 6:25pm

Re: Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby Brucey » 1 Apr 2020, 6:39pm

all kinds of things can cause creaks; I'd add a washer and see if that cured it. Simple enough to try?

cheers
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Brucey~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

robert17
Posts: 271
Joined: 24 Mar 2009, 1:41pm
Location: Worcs

Re: Campagnolo BB Power Torque : What tools required?

Postby robert17 » 1 Apr 2020, 6:42pm

Washer first it is then.