Changing tyres to road tyres

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
88baxter88

Changing tyres to road tyres

Post by 88baxter88 »

Hello

I have a Cannondale bike with Riddler 700×45c tyres
The alloys are 6061-T6 700C

I purchased this bike a while back as I was intending to spend my time cycling along the nearby canal network which is compacted gravel. It has been awesome on it but I am spending more and more time on smooth pathways nearby and road cycling.

I am still fairly new to cycling but have really enjoyed the past few months. I was wondering if anyone could recommend a narrower tyre that is more suitable to the road. I was hoping, general fitness and aerodynamics aside, I could improve my speed and distance by changing to tyres with a bit more a race profile.

Advice, suggestions and potential flaws would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by 88baxter88 on 1 Apr 2020, 10:50pm, edited 1 time in total.
Valbrona

Re: Changing tyres to road tyres

Post by Valbrona »

Your wheels are 700c. That's the easy bit.

But the width of 700c wheel rims can vary - the widest rims take the fattest tyres, while the narrowest rims take maybe 23 or 25mm tyres. Meaning -... not all 700c tyres fit on 700c rims.

If your bike came with 45mm tyres they be on wide rims.

Might be useful to find their width - sometimes marked on the rim itself - and then see what your possibilities are.
I should coco.
Jamesh

Post by Jamesh »

I have a pair of these in 32mm on my cyclo-cross bike.

https://www.wiggle.co.uk/lifeline-essen ... road-tyre/

I find them reasonably fast in the road and still comfortable enough for the canal tow paths.

These are also good tyres at a reasonable price too.

https://www.wiggle.co.uk/schwalbe-delta ... DAQAvD_BwE

Halfords and decathlon are worth a look for tyres too.

Cheers James
Paulatic

Post by Paulatic »

I’m using these Schwalbe G One leaving me plenty of grip off road but rolling well on the road too.