Finding compatible parts

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
jackrmee

Finding compatible parts

Postby jackrmee » 25 Jun 2020, 8:34am

Hi guys,
I'm new around here and need some advice on bicycle maintenance, as I'm just starting out on my learning.
I bought Zinn's maintenance book and a few basic tools.

So I bought a cheap Boardman Comp hybrid. All seemed fine, but when I took it home and tried to adjust the gearing (it was making clicking noises), I noticed that certain parts need changing, but have already been changed at some point with cheap bits, compared to what I can find in the bike spec online.

A couple of question if you'd be so kind?
1) Hpw do I find the year and exact model of my bike, as I want to check the original specs are correct? I have found the bike online and I'm using the specs from that, but I'm not 100% sure it's the correct one.
2) How do I find out if the part I find on ebay/Amazon is the correct part to fit my bike if it's not the original spec part?

Quick list of parts I want to fix/change:
Front derailleur:
This has been changed before and doesn't seem to be the right part.
Original bike spec: SRAM X5 2 speed.
Currently: microSHIFT FD-R62 9/10 Speed double capacity 10-16t

Front crankset:
A couple of the teeth are damaged.
Original bike spec: FSA Velo Compact 50/34t
Currently: FSA Velo Compact 50/34t

Rear cassette:
Seems to be the wrong part again, as the shifter and spec say it should be 9 speed, but only has 8 cogs.
Original bike spec: SRAM PG950 11-32t
Currently: Shimano CS-HG41-8 aw, with freehub protector.

The shifters are the original SRAM X5, but strangely the original bike has a 3x trigger for front and only a 2 speed front derailleur and crank. I've seen this mentioned around the place.
So I'll add another question...
3) If I'm changing the crank, I may as well get a 3 speed, with a 3 speed derailleur right? Or will that be more hassle?

Thanks in advance and apologies for the lengthy first post.

Jupestar