ARTHRITIS - ADVICE ON TYPE OF BIKE

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
rosalee1979

ARTHRITIS - ADVICE ON TYPE OF BIKE

Postby rosalee1979 » 29 Jul 2020, 9:05am

Hi everyone,
Newbie here. I have a real problem finding a brand of bike that would suit me best in my current circumstances. I am 68 with quite bad arthritis of the hip, I am 5' 2" and live in 1st floor flat. I live in Edinburgh - very hilly. I need a step-through bike, suitable for my height and sufficiently light-weight that I can carry it up the stairs to my flat (cant lock downstairs due to very real threat of bike theft). I also need gears to cope with hills. I am desperate to find a suitable type as exercise is difficult for me. Walking any distance can become painful and I do really enjoy cycling. It is recommended for building up muscle around affected joints. I dont want to pay the earth and sadly an e-bike is out of the question just now due to price and weight - maybe in the future. Can anyone help??

Greystoke

Re: ARTHRITIS - ADVICE ON TYPE OF BIKE

Postby Greystoke » 29 Jul 2020, 9:48am

Have you considered a folding bike? Easier to carry up stairs, small wheels usually means lower gears for hills at the expense of top speed and they're usually step thru frames.

simonineaston

Postby simonineaston » 29 Jul 2020, 10:01am

I use a Brompton and live in a third floor apartment. It is step-thru, easy (as easy as any bike ever gets, that is) to carry, although it is easiest to carry unfolded. As for gearing, you can adapt the arrangements to suit your needs fairly readily - my own Brompton was geared slightly low to accomodate Bristol's own hills, before it was adapted to electric.
Kinetics, over in Glasgow, are Brompton-mad - have a chat with them.
ttfn, Simon in Easton
(currently enjoying a Moulton TSR & a nano Brompton...)

simonhill

Postby simonhill » 29 Jul 2020, 10:11am