Bottom Brackets

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
francovendee

Bottom Brackets

Post by francovendee »

I grew up at time when adjustable BB's were the norm and found they were OK.
Along came sealed BB's and I found these extremely long lasting and maintenance free, a huge improvement.
Looking at a bike on offer it comes with an Octalink BB.
I have no experience of these and wonder what are the pluses and minuses over the square taper I'm familiar with.
I guess a whole new load of tools would be needed to change one?
simonineaston

Re: Bottom Brackets

Post by simonineaston »

I agree - it's a freekin' bottom-bracket nightmare out there - and as has been commented here recently, a lot of them have the timerity to call themselves 'standards'! This isn't bad at all (use Ctrl + F and search for "octa")
S
(on the look out for Armageddon, on board a Brompton nano & ever-changing Moultons)
the snail

Post by the snail »

I think the -ve with octalink is that the larger spindle means that there is less space for the bearings vs. ST, which is why they went to external bearings with HT2. I don't know what the choice of parts is, but I think octalink is a bit of a dead-end design, with ST still persisting, at least with some manufacturers.
Brucey

Post by Brucey »

francovendee wrote:I grew up at time when adjustable BB's were the norm and found they were OK.
Along came sealed BB's and I found these extremely long lasting and maintenance free, a huge improvement.
I have no experience of these and wonder what are the pluses and minuses over the square taper I'm familiar with.

You need TL-UN74 (or similar) which also fits BB-UN** ST bottom brackets.
You also need an Octalink compatible crank extractor. This is identical to a ST one, except that the 'pusher' has an adaptor on it which is larger diameter, so that it can push on the larger diameter octalink BB spindle. Most crank extractors are now made to do either ST or Octalink.