Power meters

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Mike_GMT80

Power meters

Post by Mike_GMT80 »

Hi,

Sorry if this has been asked before, I did search and couldn’t see anything.

I’m interested in getting a power meter and just want to check that I can connect this to wahoo mobile app and then upload workout to strava.

Also, any power meter recommendations towards the lower end of the market? Something that a complete novice can fit too! I’ll probably be changing my bike next year so something that is easily transferable.

Thanks
Mike

I'm a trendy consumer. Just look at my wobbly bog brush using hovercraft full of eels
Des49

Re: Power meters

Post by Des49 »

Most power meters will be able to talk to a bike computer like a Garmin, Wahoo etc., or to a phone app.

Which power meter is a bit of a minefield. These gadgets are not cheap and reliability is an issue with many, especially with long term usage.
Most affordable are single sided left cranks from Stages and 4iiii. But single sided measurement is not ideal for all.

I have direct experience with a Stages crank based meter that a family member used. Reliability was awful, leading to a couple of replacements and then a more recent model was much better. However still tricky to live with with fiddly, fragile batttery covers.