Winter jacket - recommendations please

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
MZC244

Winter jacket - recommendations please

Post by MZC244 »

Afternoon,

I am fairly new to road cycling and have only been out on my bike a handful of times.

I would say I am a very casual rider, mainly I like riding my bike around central London, stopping off a places for a coffee, food or just to sit there. but I do want to extend this to a bit more distance at some point

I want to continue these kind of days out over the winter and cycle to some parks such a Greenwich, Victoria park etc. (i'm 36 btw)

So I am after a really warm jacket that will allow me to go out in the colder days, with good windproof technology. I won't go out on the bike if it's raining.

Any suggestions please? Many people have mentioned Castelli Alpha ros 2, however it is a pricey bit of kit and I am not sure how warm it will be with my cycling style, as I am guessing this is more for a pro rider at a serious intensity/mileage?

I have looked at Gore jackets as they seem fairly versatile, any opinions?

I have recently purchased, winter tights, leg warmers, long sleeve base layer, neck warmer, gloves and skull cap. So nearly there.

Any advice would be very welcome

Thanks
iandusud

Re: Help with a winter jacket - Newbie

Post by iandusud »

This. https://galibier.cc/product/mistral-fou ... er-jacket/
The best bit of cycling kit I've bought in 40+ years of cycling. Totally windproof, breathes and shrugs off rain. I wear mine for 6-7 months of the year. At £69 an absolute bargain. I'm into my third winter with mine. Washes up like new. Read the reviews and believe them.
MZC244

Post by MZC244 »

iandusud wrote:This. https://galibier.cc/product/mistral-fou ... er-jacket/