Wheel-building question: tensions on 26"=700c?

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
sarniacycle

Wheel-building question: tensions on 26"=700c?

Post by sarniacycle »

Good morning

For the same type/diameter of spoke, built in same pattern in a rim with the same number of holes, tension should be the same whether in a 26" wheel or a 700c, one? i.e. spoke length does not affect tension if everything else is equal...or does it...?

Practical reason for this - I want to know if I can reproduce the tensions from a known "good" 26"/559 wheelset over to a new, 700c one I'm building (where all other parameters are the same).

Also curious to know what tips people have to know the tension they've reached is right (besides tensionmeters). Experience, right?!

Many thanks.
Jamesh

Re: Wheel-building question: tensions on 26"=700c?

Post by Jamesh »

I would have thought so but I'm no expert having only built two pairs of wheels

Others might say otherwise.

I use the patented "ping o meter" technology

NDS have a dull ping, DS have a sharp ping and front in between all very scientific!

I do worry doing 40mph down a hairpin bended decent!!

Cheers James
rogerzilla

Post by rogerzilla »

The only real upper limit* on tension is the rim either pringling (unlikely with modern rims) or cracking/pull-through at the spoke holes (equally likely with 26" or 700c), so I would use the same tension as for 26".

Bear in mind that the ping of a 700c spoke at the same tension and spoke pattern will be a bit lower, because it's a bit longer.

I have a tensionometer as a final check but I actually build by feel: when well-lubed nipples feel hard to turn, that's enough. "Hard" comes from experience!

*hub flanges can be ripped off, but only from bad hubs that deserved to die
iandusud

Post by iandusud »