Boardman 8.9e Hybrid bottom bracket torx bolts loosening

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Liam100

Boardman 8.9e Hybrid bottom bracket torx bolts loosening

Post by Liam100 »

I bought a Boardman 8.9e bike in June, after a couple of weeks of riding a creaking sound developed whilst pedalling which progressively got worse in the coming days. It turns out the Torx head bolts that secure the bottom bracket to the frame had came loose, I retightened but after around a weeks worth of riding I needed to tighten them up again . I've been doing this for around 3 months and now the thread has stripped on the frame for one of the Torx bolts.

the bike was returned to Halfords and I was informed that a new frame had been ordered (pending wait time) they cited the bike having no suspension and being susceptible to vibration for the Bolts loosening and then the bike being used with loose bolts as the reason for the threads being damaged.

When I asked what they recommended to prevent the bolts loosening again they told me that every few days "I would have to do a little bit of maintenance and tighten them up" which I was not happy about, I told them i didnt feel that it should be on the customer to do that and then after a little more awkward conversation they said they would apply thread locker if necessary which still leaves me in doubt.

I plan on contacting Boardman directly to see what their response is for this, after a little internet digging I can see that this seems to be a common problem for this bike .

I am very interested to know if anyone else has had a problem with this and what response/solutions were offered.

I feel like the bike should be engineered to handle vibration and feel disappointed that this has happened considering the price of the bike.
531colin

Re: Boardman 8.9e Hybrid bottom bracket torx bolts loosening

Post by 531colin »

https://www.boardmanbikes.com/gb_en/pro ... -8.9e.html
This?
An electric bike with a Fazua drive system?