Quick release wheel problem

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Petersull

Quick release wheel problem

Post by Petersull »

I'm new to cycling. I bought an ebike about 3 months ago. I often remove the front wheel to get the bike in my car. The process of removing or replacing the wheel normally takes just a few seconds (less than 10 seconds), but recently the process has become time consuming and frustrating, sometimes taking a minute or more and often requiring the complete removal of a nut. I've looked closely at the mechanism and just can't figure out was is wrong, or what I am doing wrong. Can someone please advise with any suggestions?
oldtimer99

Re: Quick release wheel problem

Post by oldtimer99 »

A whole minute. Wow!
Drive faster to make up that lost portion of your life.
Syd

Post by Syd »

Not the most helpful answer from oldtimer.

OP it would help if you described your current process.
cycleruk

Post by cycleruk »

Have you lost one of the centering springs. ?
There should be a small conical spring on each side which push outwards and holds the QR and nut clear of the drop outs when undone.
Disc or calliper brakes ?
You'll never know if you don't try it.
robgul

Post by robgul »

Is this a skewer with an over-centre cam lever - or a thru-axle as many ebikes have, especially if disc-braked?

A picture might help . . .
E2E http://www.cycle-endtoend.org.uk
HoECC http://www.heartofenglandcyclingclub.org.uk
Cytech accredited mechanic . . . and woodworker
oldtimer99

Post by oldtimer99 »

Apologies. Was having a bad hour
Petersull

Post by Petersull »

No problem oldtimer99. I just have a bad minute or more holding up a heavy ebike with one hand whilst fiddling about getting the wheel in or out with the other hand, when it used to be a quick and easy operation.