External BB bearings - worn?

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Sweep

External BB bearings - worn?

Post by Sweep »

I know this will make me seem like a total beginner (I'm not) but I only have one bike with external BB bearings - the Shimano set-up.

And as I don't live with the thing I haven't ridden this bike many miles at all.

So - to the point.

With my various cartridge BBs (square taper/Octalink) I have always checked for wear by grasping the two cranks and trying to wobble them apart by pulling them both towards and away from the frame. Any wobble/movement it means that the BB is worn out and I replace the cartridge. Of course with square taper in particular this doesn't happen very often.

I have just tried the same thing with the Shimano external BB and am getting slight movement.

Does this mean that the bearings are worn out and need to be replaced?

Or could something else be afoot?

Another question - will also look particularly nooby, but I don't have a full set of tools with this bike and so can't easily at the moment take things apart to have a look - fair to assume that even though this bike was fitted with external bearings from the beginning by Hewitt that a full set of threads are in the BB shell so that I can i time replace the questionable external bearing jobbie with a square taper? (I have standing by a good quality Deore square taper crankset which I think is a very near relation of the Deore external BB in there at the moment.
Last edited by Sweep on 16 Nov 2021, 8:33am, edited 1 time in total.
Sweep
freeflow

Re: External BB bearings - worn?

Post by freeflow »

A small amount of movement along the axis of the crankshaft is normalish, though you might want to loosen the bolts on the left hand crank and check the bearing preload after the right hand crank is pushed fully home.
cycleruk

Post by cycleruk »

3 tools needed to service/change external BBs.
https://www.chainreactioncycles.com/shi ... p-prod3784