What does 700c mean ?

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
spinner_43

What does 700c mean ?

Post by spinner_43 »

As a newbie, I am confused about the '700c' jargon/buzzword. Does it refer to a wheel size, tyre size, wheel specification, or what? Is it important to know?

I've tried the search engine, but couldn't find what I wanted.

And, while I'm logged in- what the devil are eggbeater pedals !

Regards, Alan.
thirdcrank

Post by thirdcrank »

700C (Capital C) is a tyre size roughly the same as 27" but a bit smaller. It's now the standard for so-called road bikes. Although it is generally assumed by UK riders to have superseded the British standard 27" wheel, I understand that 700C came first and either Raleigh or Dunlop wanted to protect their market with a size of their own and introduced 27 x 1 1/4", so 700C just really made a comeback in the UK starting about 25 years ago. It's usually expressed as 700 x 32C or similar where the second number is the tyre size in millimetres - the equivalent of the 1 1/4" bit in 27 x 1 1/4".

See http://www.ctc.org.uk/DesktopDefault.aspx?TabID=3802 for chapter and verse

Eggbeaters are a type of clipless pedal that look a bit like foodmixers
GeoffL

Post by GeoffL »

As usual, Sheldon Brown had light to shed on the subject. http://www.sheldonbrown.com/tire-sizing.html gives a little more depth and information of how the industry got into such an unholy mess with wheel and tyre sizing!

HTH,

Geoff
cranky

Post by cranky »

Eggbeater pedals...

Iain

Ridgeback Genesis Day 2
Surly Long Haul Trucker
spinner_43

Tyre sizes

Post by spinner_43 »

Thank you 'thirdcrank', 'GeoffL' and 'cranky' for taking the time and touble to direct me to the information sites. I have found the ISO tyre spec (37-622) for the tyres on my bike and can now try to digest the data.