Understanding Cycle Brakes

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
aziraphale

Understanding Cycle Brakes

Postby aziraphale » 8 Mar 2007, 12:01am

Hi all,

I am an engineer by training and should really be able to work this our myself but I struggle. So please give me a helping hand.

After having cycles on various touring bikes for years I now have a reasonably average priced road bike.

unlike the other bikes I used to ride I have reached downhillpeads of more than 35mph without even trying hard. but I do not feel particularly safe - so I tend to break and try to slow it dow to no more than 25mph - especially in the approach to other junctions.

I do typically use the rear brake first and then at usually less than half the pressure slowly tighten the front brake slightly. If I only pull the rear brake or if the tension on the brake is too strong on the rear I have experience thgat my rear tyre tends to move sideways with a ffeling like the rear part of the bike was trying to overtake. Loosing the grip on the brake does help little curiously tightening the grip on the front does.

I do not understand this effect. It makes me feel insecure at high speeds.

I regularly get my bike serviced and also check very regulalry that the wheels are well centered between the brake pads.

Who can explain this phenomena?

andrew_s

Postby andrew_s » 8 Mar 2007, 1:14am

What's happening is that the back wheel is locking up and skidding.

When you brake, your weight gets transferred towards the front of the bike, and there isn't enough weight on the back wheel to keep it turning against the brake. If you brake hard enough, the back wheel comes right off the ground and you end up going over the handlebars unless you stop braking quick enough.
The steeper the downhill, the quicker this happens (ie with less braking force required).

As you've found, you have to ease off the back brake as you apply the front one harder.