Cheap Computers

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
rapidfire72

Cheap Computers

Post by rapidfire72 »

I got a Cat-Eye computer from the York Cycle Show and turned out to be a duff, can't return it so chucked it in the bin. This is the third Cat-Eye Computer that has been a duffer.

I'm now looking for a cheap computer in it's place. I've heard halford's do some cheap basic computer's, are these any good or would it be best to wait until Aldi or Lidi have the bike bits offers.
BryterLayter

Re: Cheap Computers

Post by BryterLayter »

Sorry to hear about the Cat eye computer. I nearly purchased one from there too, but changed my mind at the last minute. I used a wireless cycle computer from Aldi a couple of years ago it worked fine until the day I got caught in a deluge on the way home at which point it died on me. I tried drying it out but to no avail, I have no experience on the Halfords ones. I will be interested in what others have experienced too.
And now we rise
And we are everywhere
Landy Mann

Post by Landy Mann »

IMHO The cheap Halfords ones aren't that good the last one I got had to be returned, I can't remember what stopped working about it. Insaying that my current one is a halfords one I got for my 10th birthday, 9 1/2 years ago, but I've found with age that it needs to be kept inside and dry rather than on my bike all the time as it was before! So it's probably one of those, where some are good and some bad!
|)/-\\/!|)

2009 Giant Defy 3 - Road/tourer
199? Dimondback Topanga - Commuter
rapidfire72

Post by rapidfire72 »

Having done a look on Halford's website searching the bike computer's on there. I came across this one Computer which believe it or not is the same as the one on my work bike. The computer on the work bike is called Star and has only 3 functions, but nevertheless it's been in heavy rain, snow and been knocked about a bit. So, I'm going to buy the Halford's computer.
spanner

Post by spanner »