Fixed wheel physics question

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Trigger

Fixed wheel physics question

Post by Trigger »

Just a disclaimer to start: I never paid any attention at school and I've never ridden one, so this may seem like a stupid question to some of you University Challenge types :P

Fixed wheel bikes, does the momentum actually help with power required to turn the cranks? for some reason I seem to have it in my mind that if you can't free-wheel then that forward momentum must reduce the amount of effort required on flat ground.

I'm probably wrong, so can someone explain it?

Ta.
robgul

Re: Fixed wheel physics question

Post by robgul »

I'm no scientist but ride fixed quite a lot - you certainly get a "flywheel effect" with the direct drive - and acceleration is better than with a geared/freewheel bike.

Going down steep hills is a pain as there is a tendency for your legs to be ripped out of your pelvis with the cadence ... and for uphills you need to anticipate and attack ... but again the flywheel effect helps.

Rob
E2E http://www.cycle-endtoend.org.uk
HoECC http://www.heartofenglandcyclingclub.org.uk
Cytech accredited mechanic . . . and woodworker
stewartpratt

Post by stewartpratt »

Energy isn't created or lost. The same net energy is required to move along at a given speed regardless of free or fixed. A fixed wheel doesn't give you free energy.

If the momentum of the bike is pushing your legs round for part of the stroke then that's acting to slow the bike and so you have to compensate for not lifting your leg on the dead upstroke by pushing more on the downstroke.

If you're spinning properly then of course there's no difference anyway...
Brucey

Post by Brucey »

if it really helped very much, in a sort of physicsy-way then 'ordinary' bikes (i.e. with freewheels) would have to be intriniscally inefficient in some way, which they are not. If they were, then the freewheel would not be popular for racing...