Help fitting a stem raiser

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Dave855

Help fitting a stem raiser

Postby Dave855 » 2 Jun 2012, 4:29pm

My new sem raiser cam in the post today and I've just had a bas at fitting it (I'm a complete novice). Upon removing the handlebars and stem from my Sardar I was a bit unsure what to do with the spacers/cantilever cable mount (I want to remove it as I'm also fitting v-brakes) and strange thin wrap around piece of metal (what is this??).

My best efforts managed to get the extender on although probably not entirely correctly?? It's certainly not secure enough (I'm not sure if that could be because I havn't tightened the bolt into the star fangled nut tight enough-I'll have to get an extended allen key to nip it up-although from what I can tell the tightening of that particular bolt is more for compression and wouldn't stop the stem raiser sliding round the steerer tube?). Could the looseness be more to do with the mystery 'wrap around piece of metal' (seen in bottom pic between the spacers and the stem raiser)'?

Please excuse my complete clue-less-ness! I would be very grateful of any insight that could be offered. I'm determined to get my head around the workings of my bike before I go off for my first tour in a couple of weeks time. See pics below....
Image Attachments
Extender-finished.jpg
Extender-peices.jpg

freebooter

Re: Help fitting a stem raiser

Postby freebooter » 2 Jun 2012, 4:50pm

The steerer on the Sardar is 1" diameter whereas most ahead steerer tubes are 1 1/8" diameter. Hence most stems and your stem raiser are made to fit the wider standard steerer and are too big for the Sardar steerer. The 'wrap around piece of metal' is a shim that allows you to fit 1 1/8" stems to the 1" steerer. You must use it with your new raiser.

bensonboo

Postby bensonboo » 2 Jun 2012, 4:53pm