Possibly stupid question on breaking a chain

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Orangey
Posts: 23
Joined: 14 Aug 2011, 8:25pm

Possibly stupid question on breaking a chain

Postby Orangey » 7 Jul 2012, 11:46am

Hi, I'm trying to replace the chain on my bike, however I'm having serious trouble getting the original one off. I've two tools for pushing pins out of chains (although this is the first time I've actually had to use one) and neither makes any impression on my chain. The chain is an SRAM PC10. I've wiped it down and checked all the pins, they all seem identical and there's no powerlink or similar (fortunately I do have one for the new chain).

I've watched a couple of videos on the internet and the pins just seem to come out fairly easily so I'm wondering whether I'm missing anything really obvious, or my chain tools are substandard - the one on my multi tool certainly doesn't look up to much, but the other one is at least entirely metal and fairly solid looking.

I've tried a number of different pins on the chain and tightened the tool to the point where I felt the point of the tool might be in danger of bending but no luck.

I would like to be able to remove the chain properly, but if all else fails I do have a hacksaw...

Any suggestions?

User avatar
meic
Posts: 19355
Joined: 1 Feb 2007, 9:37pm
Location: Caerfyrddin (Carmarthen)

Re: Possibly stupid question on breaking a chain

Postby meic » 7 Jul 2012, 11:59am

Have you made sure that the point of the tool is lined up perfectly with the pin.
Otherwise it could be pushing on the plate as well, preventing it from working.

Apologies if this is obvious to you already.
Yma o Hyd

snibgo
Posts: 4604
Joined: 29 Jun 2010, 4:45am

Re: Possibly stupid question on breaking a chain

Postby snibgo » 7 Jul 2012, 12:00pm

A hacksaw works fine. (I speak from experience.)

A chain tool has two slots for the chain. One is for pushing the pin out; the other is for pushing it in. If you put the chain in the wrong slot and try to push the pin out, you'll just press it against the backstop and break the tool. (Again, I speak from experience.)

Brucey
Posts: 34316
Joined: 4 Jan 2012, 6:25pm

Re: Possibly stupid question on breaking a chain

Postby Brucey » 7 Jul 2012, 12:02pm

check again for a powerlink; this is the way SRAM chains are designed to be joined, and they usually supply a link with the chain.

if not, the hacksaw will be fine... :shock:

cheers
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Brucey~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Orangey
Posts: 23
Joined: 14 Aug 2011, 8:25pm

Re: Possibly stupid question on breaking a chain

Postby Orangey » 7 Jul 2012, 12:12pm

Thanks everyone, I'm going to claim a victory for brute force and ignorance :) I had one last go with the metal chain tool on the basis that if it broke it probably wasn't any good anyway. I managed to get the pin out "properly" but I also bent the side plate of the chain in the process so I'm glad that I'm not putting it back on again. There were two very definite clicks at the start and end of the pin where it was hardest to get it moving.

The tool always started off lined up with the pin, but the pins on this chain (and the replacement) are shaped such getting it to stay there was tricky. I can see why people use powerlinks with them. I guess at the factory they have better tools that can push these pins through without breaking anything - the chain I was taking off was the original that came with the bike.

Brucey
Posts: 34316
Joined: 4 Jan 2012, 6:25pm

Re: Possibly stupid question on breaking a chain

Postby Brucey » 7 Jul 2012, 12:20pm

Orangey wrote: I can see why people use powerlinks with them. I guess at the factory they have better tools that can push these pins through without breaking anything .


in the factory, the rivets are swaged over after the chain is assembled. Chains made thus are not designed to be rejoined by pushing standard rivets in and out.

Hence these chains are joined with 'special pins' or joining links; anything else is likely to weaken the chain.

cheers
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Brucey~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

User avatar
ferrit worrier
Posts: 5217
Joined: 27 Jun 2008, 7:58pm
Location: south Manchester

Re: Possibly stupid question on breaking a chain

Postby ferrit worrier » 7 Jul 2012, 1:58pm

A picture paints a thousand words

Hope the following helps

Open chain rivet extractor
IMG_0001.JPG


then position chain in the jaws
IMG_0002.JPG


Screw in the extractor pin, quite a bit of resistance will be felt as you push the rivet out, once it's got throught the first plate it should go through quite easily.
IMG_0003.JPG


Rivet pops out the other side. :)
IMG_0004.JPG


IMG_0005.JPG
Percussive maintainance, if it don't fit, hit it with the hammer.

Mattie
Posts: 421
Joined: 23 Feb 2009, 9:19pm

Re: Possibly stupid question on breaking a chain

Postby Mattie » 7 Jul 2012, 2:27pm

By the way, in some situations it is better not to push the pin out completely as it will be impossible (in my experience !) to put back in.

Have fun :D

User avatar
cycle cat
Posts: 455
Joined: 6 Feb 2009, 5:16pm
Location: North Cheshire

Re: Possibly stupid question on breaking a chain

Postby cycle cat » 7 Jul 2012, 5:09pm

IME any chain up to 8 speed will be fine using the " push out the pin method".
As Bruce rightly pointed out, some have rivets designed not to come out!

Shimano chains always used to need an oversize black rivet to re join the chain.
I don't know if this is still the case. I avoid using Shimano chains.
My bikes have Sachs or Kmc chains fitted.

Spare " quick links" are useful bits of kit to carry so you can rejoin a snapped chain
in an emergency. You need to match the link to the "speed" of chain ie an 8 speed chain
needs an 8 speed link.
Thank goodness for soup.

gbnz
Posts: 1498
Joined: 13 Sep 2008, 10:38am

Re: Possibly stupid question on breaking a chain

Postby gbnz » 7 Jul 2012, 5:27pm

Orangey wrote: I managed to get the pin out "properly" but I also bent the side plate of the chain in the process .


It may well have been your chain tool at fault. My chain tool is identical to the one shown in the photos above and over 10 or 20 year period, had never had an issue with it (Either pushing pins in or out).

Until last year, when it became slightly corroded while in the bike mini saddlebag. The corrosion rubbed off with a cloth and appeared fairly irrelevant. But somehow it's altered the shape of the tools "pushing pin" to such an extent, that it now routinely ends up sliding to the side and pushing against the chains side plate while in use. Changing a 2 minute unthinking job, into a job requiring 5-8 minutes and considerable care.

Ugly
Posts: 350
Joined: 14 Jul 2009, 8:34am

Re: Possibly stupid question on breaking a chain

Postby Ugly » 7 Jul 2012, 8:54pm

nice to see a workbench even more cr*p covered than mine

User avatar
ferrit worrier
Posts: 5217
Joined: 27 Jun 2008, 7:58pm
Location: south Manchester

Re: Possibly stupid question on breaking a chain

Postby ferrit worrier » 7 Jul 2012, 9:04pm

Ugly wrote:nice to see a workbench even more cr*p covered than mine


:lol: :lol: :lol:
Percussive maintainance, if it don't fit, hit it with the hammer.