Upgrade STI Shifters From Tigra to 105

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Psamathe

Upgrade STI Shifters From Tigra to 105

Post by Psamathe »

My bike is fitted with Tiagra shifters and I've pretty well always found them "rather poor". Initially as a beginner I assumed that was just how STIs were. But over the last year I've either become fussier or they have got worse. At bike shop the other day they spent two hours trying to get is all going good (incl. some repairs after a fall that had bent the rear mech). Ended-up with a new rear mech, new cable and cable outers, new chain (cassette was OK) and lots of time trying to set-up. And still, even on a stand they could not get it 100%. And out riding it is even worse. (Excellent shop, very experienced with a fantastic reputation so I'm not doubting the LBS in any way and am 110% sure they did the best possible).

Problem: to change gear sometimes one click will do nothing, sometimes give you two gear changes, sometimes two gear changes with a clattering noise (which then needs a click in the opposite direction), sometimes one gear change with a clattering noise (needing a click in the opposite direction). And even occasionally you get the gear change you intended !!

So I'm considering upgrading to 105 shifters (given pretty well everything else in the system has been replaced). People (in the shops) say the 105s are more precise and better, though they are not pushing them as "a solution".

(n.b. 10 speed with compact double).

So do people think it might be a solution/might help or a big waste of money ?

Many thanks
Ian
iandriver

Re: Upgrade STI Shifters From Tigra to 105

Post by iandriver »

I've used Tiagra 9 speed shifters for years with flawless rear shifting. The problem is not them as a product. There is either something faulty with your shifters or the problem lies else where.

Edit, I'd start by checking your B screw adjustment:
http://www.parktool.com/blog/repair-hel ... derailleur