Bulletproof bike

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
dominicy

Bulletproof bike

Post by dominicy »

Hello All

I am looking for advice about a bulletproof bike.

I have been tooling around London for about 8 years on a Canondale Vintage (basically a Bad Boy with leather grips I think). It has been fine but over the years I have replaced almost all of the components. I think I have the original front wheel and one brake and that's about it.

Today, for the SECOND time, my handlebar snapped as I was riding and this time I took my first proper tumble. My dislike of my bike falling apart under me as I ride along is quite great so I have finally started wondering if I should consider a new bike.

My requirements are these:

- Very strong, in every component. Hubs, rims, frame, cranks (one of them snapped once too), lots of spokes, pedals and HANDLEBARS!
- Touring type setup - stand, mudguards, rack
- Ideally black(!)
- can take the strain - I am a pretty big guy (6'3" and 130kg which never goes down much despite cycling) and fit enough to give the bike a reasonably hard time with very strong legs.

What I do not care about includes

- weight. The weight of the bike is a rounding error in the overall weight of the setup with me on top
- gears. Well, I do care about them in the sense that I want some but I don't have particularly strong views and I don't use many of them so could go for a hub setup if they're any good, or whatever

I have been thinking about touring bikes which are built for the long haul with loads of stuff loaded on racks. Does that sound like the right way to go? I will mainly be tooling around London, commuting and general transport. Also any recommendations for shops?

Greater wisdom than I have to hand would be appreciated. I have been cycling a while on this bike but am not really very tuned into bike stuff so am pretty clueless.

Dominic
Brucey

Re: Bulletproof bike

Post by Brucey »