Tandem Chains Recommendations

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Colin Stanley

Tandem Chains Recommendations

Post by Colin Stanley »

Hi there,
I need to buy new chains for our Rohloff tandem. I was thinking of buying 3 x KCM 8 speed from Spa cycles. However, I have never used KCM before. Are they ok? Most of my chains have been SRAM or Campy.
gaz

Re: Tandem Chains Recommendations

Post by gaz »

A few thoughts here: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=80995
High on a cocktail of flossy teacakes and marmalade
pwa

Post by pwa »

Definitely stick to the more robust 8 speed chains for a Rohloff. I put deluxe KMC chains (the ones recommended by Thorn for Rohloff / single speed) on my tandem and they looked impressively well made. I haven't put more than a few hundred miles into them yet, though.
DaveP

Post by DaveP »

Well I think KMC is a decent brand - FWIW!
I use the KMC X8 99 on mine. Seems to be ok. Better spec if a bit more expensive than what Spa are offering. I get mine from Chain Reaction.
However, there are special chains for Rohloff hubs, the X1. Thorn do It for £29 - each :shock:
Its not quite totally explicit, but I suspect that the same chain is available from JD tandems in timing chain lengths for £40
You pays your money...
Trying to retain enough fitness to grow old disgracefully... That hasn't changed!
Colin Stanley

Post by Colin Stanley »

Thanks for the replies. I was going to get the KMC, but I see that Amazon are doing a Clarks MTB/Road 8 Speed Chain 1/2"x3/32" x116 with a Quick Release Link for £4.49. Not plated though, so may go for a KMC in the end.
I did help someone to fit a Wippermann chain (I forget the model no), but it was a pain de-riveting and ruined my old rivet extractor tool.
reohn2

Post by reohn2 »

I've always used Sram 971's,even on 8sp transmissions without issue I'm very pleased with them.
On the tandems the final drive(dérailleur) usually lasts about 2,500miles,a Rohloff chain should last a lot longer.