Help me! Complete novice who needs to travel with toddler.

rsian

Help me! Complete novice who needs to travel with toddler.

Post by rsian »

Hi. I’ve been reading all sorts, but now require some help!

I’m going to have to start transporting my daughter on a bike from September, she will be three. I don’t think she will do the walk from the nursery we hope she will get in (about 1.5 miles either way), and I don’t drive. The journey is along main roads. I’ll be commuting a little bit further, but not much and I’ll need to take some stuff with me too. When I have her it’ll be impossible for me to take all the stuff I need, but on the days I don’t I’ll have a laptop, ringbinder, marking and more. I take a suitcase currently to cart it all around.

I’ve also been on a bike about once in the past five years, so I want to get things sorted and used to cycling over summer.

I had thought about a cargo bike, but there’s no cycle paths and my husband doesn’t think that’s a great idea. I’ve alway liked the style of the Pendleton Somerby (for all the cycling I do :lol: ), but I’m not convinced that’s the best choice.

So, basically I’m clueless. I need suggestions on a bike for me and a child seat for a three year old. Any help would be amazing!
Tangled Metal

Re: Help me! Complete novice who needs to travel with toddler.

Post by Tangled Metal »

A decent hybrid bike with rack and pannier(s) plus a good child seat like hamax siesta that can tilt back.

Of course as child gets older try and get them to learn to ride a bike. Then get a FollowMe tandem to use instead of the seat. Might seem scary with traffic but IMHO drivers see kids and give a wide berth.

Or a semi recumbent tandem like Hase pino or circe morpheus. They don't have to pedal and you can get shoulder straps for young kids too. They're not too long to cycle solo too.

PS last option only good if you don't need all your hard earned. You're probably haggling 3k or more for those tandems.
honesty