Best bike for kids

Ljones

Best bike for kids

Post by Ljones »

Hi all. I’m pretty new to all this cycling malarkey however my 7 year old would like a bike so we can go out together.
Can someone please ade us with some information please.
I have seen 2 bikes that look okay but I don’t have a clue what’s better.
This is one from Halfords with front suspension

https://www.halfords.com/bikes/kids-bik ... 00534.html

This is one from go outdoors front suspension with disc brakes

https://www.gooutdoors.co.uk/16185419/p ... e-16185419

Both are aluminium frames

Any help or guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
Jdsk

Re: Best bike for kids

Post by Jdsk »

Welcome.

I'd look at a new or preloved Islabike:
https://www.islabikes.co.uk/pages/childrens-bikes

Recent discussion:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=146838

Jonathan
Ljones

Post by Ljones »

Thanks for the reply.
They are slightly more money than we were looking to spend.
Thanks again
Grumpy-Grandad

Post by Grumpy-Grandad »

Ljones wrote: 23 Aug 2021, 9:36am Hi all. I’m pretty new to all this cycling malarkey however my 7 year old would like a bike so we can go out together.

Thanks in advance.
We bought one of these for our 10 year old grandson a couple of months ago and he really likes it. It seems well made and robust enough too. :D
Steve
Bonefishblues

Post by Bonefishblues »

Ljones wrote: 23 Aug 2021, 10:42am Thanks for the reply.
They are slightly more money than we were looking to spend.
Thanks again
You should be OK second hand. They really are a smart buy, but if you do want to buy new, look at bikes that have rigid, not suspension forks - they add weight for a younger child, and are pretty ineffective.
Stradageek

Post by Stradageek »

+1 for buying second hand but in all cases pick the bike up, the lightest bike is usually the best.

Eschew any suspension, it adds weight and serves no useful purpose.