More powerful bike vs Twist & Go

Electrically assisted bikes, trikes, etc.
brendano

More powerful bike vs Twist & Go

Postby brendano » 22 Dec 2019, 12:36am

Hi everyone,

Hoping to get some opinions on the following. So I currently commute to work around 8 miles each way on an EvoMotion City Ebike - https://www.evoscooters.co.uk/electric- ... -bike.html

I am no expert on bikes but I'm assuming this would be classed as a low quality e-bike and does struggle on hills but is great on flats. The one benefit I enjoy on this is that it came with twist & go which I find a god send for getting home when I cant be bothered to pedal.

I have an opportunity through cycle to work scheme to invest in a new bike and have been looking at the below -
https://www.wheelbase.co.uk/product/e-b ... ntry-2020/

I guess my questions would be 1) Do you think there will be a massive difference in the experience I get from the newer bike, given it has the 2020 Bosch performance CX motor and better tyres/breaks etc compared to my existing bike which seems largely unbranded parts. 2) Would the potential added benefits of the new bike outweigh losing the twist and go in terms of making my ride quicker/more enjoyable with work bags etc.

I am trying to establish if the £2300 on the new bike will really add up to much of a difference in real cycling terms if used mainly for commuting other than it is a more visually appealing bike to me.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

lowrider

Re: More powerful bike vs Twist & Go

Postby lowrider » 22 Dec 2019, 9:57am

Without getting technical sounds like your trying to justify spending a lot on a shiny new bike. The old one does the job well enough though?