Giant syncdrive display replacement

Electrically assisted bikes, trikes, etc.
simonsen
Posts: 3
Joined: 8 May 2020, 6:30pm

Giant syncdrive display replacement

Postby simonsen » 8 May 2020, 6:36pm

Hi all I have a giant entour with syncdrive motor due to some connections issues display is tempremental and sometimes doesn't turn on so I have to smash it few times and then it turns on, today I used a bit to much force and screen got damaged so I need a replacement unfortunately original Yamaha/ giant display is so expensive I was wondering if I can use aftermarket Chinese one

stodd
Posts: 279
Joined: 6 Jun 2018, 10:24am

Re: Giant syncdrive display replacement

Postby stodd » 8 May 2020, 10:31pm

I suspect that you can't. Most of the big brands (eg Bosch, Shimano) have propriety systems with non-standard parts, Yamaha is probably the same.
Ask at https://www.pedelecs.co.uk/forum/forums ... cussion.2/

hemo
Posts: 768
Joined: 16 Nov 2017, 5:40pm
Location: West Sussex

Re: Giant syncdrive display replacement

Postby hemo » 8 May 2020, 11:50pm

These systems are known as closed or locked in ones and use CANbus or handshaking between the component parts to work, I would never buy in to such a bike because you can't do anything except back to a dealer.

fivebikes
Posts: 119
Joined: 9 Mar 2008, 12:46pm
Location: West Yorks

Re: Giant syncdrive display replacement

Postby fivebikes » 9 May 2020, 1:25pm

Is this the part?
https://www.giantbikespares.com/Giant-L ... il/3-45579
Seems quite inexpensive. Apologies if not the right one. Other controllers are dearer it appears.

simonsen
Posts: 3
Joined: 8 May 2020, 6:30pm

Re: Giant syncdrive display replacement

Postby simonsen » 9 May 2020, 2:32pm

I found following unit 245MFLCD28-16V and I have 245mflcd28-17v wondering if it will work with my bike?

simonsen
Posts: 3
Joined: 8 May 2020, 6:30pm

Re: Giant syncdrive display replacement

Postby simonsen » 9 May 2020, 2:53pm

simonsen wrote:I found following unit 245MFLCD28-16V and I have 245mflcd28-17v wondering if it will work with my bike?


But I have a single plug with 3 wires and on this one you have two plugs? Will it fit? Just wonder about compatibility? If anything unit I found looks like it has one plug

fivebikes
Posts: 119
Joined: 9 Mar 2008, 12:46pm
Location: West Yorks

Re: Giant syncdrive display replacement

Postby fivebikes » 9 May 2020, 5:16pm

I’d contact them at GiantBikeSpares to make sure you get the right unit.