Ebike to fit in hatchback

Electrically assisted bikes, trikes, etc. that are legal in the UK
mylesm

Ebike to fit in hatchback

Post by mylesm »

Hi All Newbie here thanks for the add

I recently purchased a BMW 225XE Hatchback with the intention of carrying 2 Ebikes On a Tow ball Carrier

Now I find that I cannot fit a Towbar to this model my bad for not checking

The Car is fairly spacious with the Back seats folded so I am now thinking of 2 Ebikes to fit in the back

Me and my wife want to go off during the Summer to do different Day Cycles on Greenways etc only the two of us so no problem losing the back seats

I have been looking at the internet for some help but I am struggling

I was thinking of the Cube Compact would 2 of them fit easily into Hatchback or would I need a Folder

If anyone can advise please do also any pics of bikes in back of Hatchback Car would be great

Thank you
Mylesm
lowrider

Re: Ebike to fit in hatchback

Post by lowrider »

mylesm

Hybrids unfortunately are not as practical as a petrol or diesel car, not that well known is they cant tow (or not well) the sales publicity dont mention things like that. However I have a friend who`s got a tow bar fitted to a Toyota hybrid and does tow a light trailer ( very) although not recommended by the manufacturer.

The point is the restriction he has is on towing due to the shortcoming's of the system, not on the tow bar itself, you will be using it only as a bracket to mount a rack. I assume that there will be tow bars available for petrol or diesel models of the same vehicle, just get one of them fitted. Providing the weight with the bikes and the rack does exceed the maximum loading of the car or the tow bar of course and worth checking any insurance issue just in case. Also check the rear or the car where the bar would be fitted is the same as a normal car.