Hi newbie here - wondering about e-trikes

Electrically assisted bikes, trikes, etc. that are legal in the UK
Robyn65

Hi newbie here - wondering about e-trikes

Post by Robyn65 »

:? :D Hi all so I don’t cycle as of until last month but I have purchased a e trike as disabled and only can use electric atm ( waiting on op on other leg 🦵) hopefully fix soon lol … so I live south coast I went on my second ride today and omg I find the road so much easier as to my dips n slants and pots holes on the pavement:( ( cycle path bit) so was wondering if any advice on e trikes !! Many thanks robyn from south coast :)
sharpedge

Re: Hi newbie here - wondering about e-trikes

Post by sharpedge »

I have an ICE Adventure HD which I had a Bafang motor fitted after one year. Two years later I am well pleased with it. It is comfortable, stable and with the new bigger battery (20AH) gives me the capacity for a full days ride. Yesterday for instance I did 35 miles of the Walney to Wear route which had a lot of nasty short hills. Dont get a lower capacity battery. The ICE is also available with the Bosch system if you would prefer that route. If you order one get the full suspension for comfort and you may like to think about the seat riser (makes getting off much easier)! I bought mine through Get Cycling in York which has one to try which is what I did. Another important advantage of ICE is that the trike folds and goes in the car - makes the possibilities much greater. Remember - it wont go on the train like a two wheeler!
Tigerbiten

Post by Tigerbiten »

Welcome ..... :D

Upwrong or recumbent ??
I ask because it affects the handling.
A trike will turn away from your CoG.
If you lean right on a bike then the bike will turn right.
If you lean right on a trike then the trike will turn left.
So if you lean right to counteract a road camber the a trike will automagically try and turn left and you can end up in the ditch.