crank vs hub power

Electrically assisted bikes, trikes, etc. that are legal in the UK
Monkey boy

crank vs hub power

Post by Monkey boy »

Apologies if this has been done to death.

I’m looking into getting an e bike and wondered what the pros and cons of crank power vs hub power were.
Any advice/experience you can share would be greatly appreciated.

Best regards.

Mb
Oldjohnw

Re: crank vs hub power

Post by Oldjohnw »

I have no experience of bb power. I assume that because of the weight distribution bb as some advantages but I also suspect some disadvantages such as increased chain wear.

My experience is of hub drive - at the front. The expectation is that this would cause wheel spin. I have to say that in 4 years and many miles and heavily laden (at the rear) tours I have experienced this once. It is efficient and, I believe, cheaper.

It is also of importance to consider battery location and whether you have cadence or torque drive.

I could not possibly claim which is best.
Last edited by Oldjohnw on 16 Sep 2021, 1:34pm, edited 2 times in total.
John
PH

Post by PH »

My experience is limited to half a dozen test rides, both on shop demos and friends bikes.
I had no hesitation in choosing a torque sensing crank motor. I found it more akin to the experience of cycling, just a multiplying of the effort in a way that feels entirely natural and predictable. I found hub drive motors, front and rear, felt you were being motored along.
Lots of variables and some degree of personal preference, plus as I said my experience is limited, trying before buying is IMO essential.
[XAP]Bob

Post by [XAP]Bob »

Oldjohnw wrote: 15 Sep 2021, 8:25am It is also of importance to consider battery location and whether you have cadence or torque drive.

I have to say that I think the cadence/torque sensing differences are huge, particularly when starting from a standstill (i.e. when you most benefit from the motor).
Torque is just leagues better.