Any experiences of Nu-flex as a cyclepath surface ??

gazza_d

Any experiences of Nu-flex as a cyclepath surface ??

Post by gazza_d »

I had a discussion with someone twitter this morning about the proposed resurfacing of the Keswick to Thelkeld rail path.
She and others are strongly opposed to the tarmacing of the path cos it will ruin the rural ambiance of the path. Remember it's an old rail line and next to A66.
Apparently they have suggested a surfacing called Nu-flex as an alternative. I've no experience of it and wondered if anyone here had.
I rather suspect it's a firmer version of what they put down in childrens playgrounds, but could potentially still have enough give to be hard work on a cycle.
Lancs county counilc have surfaced some of the East Lancs cycleway with it [url]https://www.lancashire.gov.uk/council/strategies-policies-plans/roads-parking-and-travel/major-transport-schemes/east-lancashire-strategic-cycleway-network/latest-news/
[/url]
Product site is here http://www.nu-flex.co.uk/products/
Vorpal

Re: Any experiences of Nu-flex as a cyclepath surface ??

Post by Vorpal »

It's a combination of recycled rubber, aggregate, and polyurethane.

https://www.highwaysindustry.com/wp-con ... ressed.pdf

If the rubber content is relatively low, it can be a good paving material. The more rubber is in it, the lower the life tends to be, especially if it's in an area where cars can park on it. Like with any other paving materials, the underlayment & thickness are crucial to having a long-lasting surface.

It does have good resistance to seasonal cracking. The Swedish highways agency have been experimenting with it. I will see if I can find some research results.

Edit: I didn't find anything on that particular brand. There are some research papers about recycled rubber & aggregate in new paving surfaces. There seems to have been an EU funded project, and the Nordic countries have also had some sort of collaboration, but I'm not sure how much is applicable.