rules of the road

Commuting, Day rides, Audax, Incidents, etc.
thinkingaboutcycling

rules of the road

Post by thinkingaboutcycling »

Hi, I just registered here after browsing for opinions on what I'm sure is an all-too common topic- the relationship between drivers and cyclists on the road. This was prompted by a close-ish shave I had with a cyclist yesterday whilst driving in Shoreditch, London. Just for background, I drive more days than not in east London, although I did buy a bike last year with the intention of cycling the towpaths to work.. which tbh is currently still more an intention than a reality, but will probably start in earnest when the daylight hours increase.

I've been driving regularly in London for over 20 years so I've witnessed the huge increase in cycling over this period, which I'm in favour of. And it has definitely caused a change in my driving habits- for instance, nowadays any left turn is done with one eye constantly on the nearside door mirror (to think this mirror wasn't even fitted as standard to many cars until the 1980s!) because two-wheeled vehicles (motorised and otherwise) can appear with alarming suddenness, particularly in slow and busy traffic.