Red lights?

Commuting, Day rides, Audax, Incidents, etc.
Picklepies

Red lights?

Post by Picklepies »

Hi all,

I'm really new to cycling, and wanted to ask a question about red light etiquette.

I was waiting at a red light at a junction (with no cars next to me) and was overtaken by 2 cyclists, who jumped the red light, and had to swerve from a car coming out if the side road.

They proceeded to wait for me a little further up the road to inform me it was my fault they were almost hit, and I shouldn't have been waiting at the light, as it meant they couldn't see any cars coming out the junction before they overtook?

I wanted to ask if they were just angry people, or if they were making a point? sorry if this seems a silly question, but I haven't ridden in about 15 years, and then it was just following my dad lol :)
thirdcrank

Re: Red lights?

Post by thirdcrank »

I see kwackers hasn't been on for three months so I hope he's OK. Perhaps an RLJ thread will tempt him back. :wink:
Barks

Post by Barks »

That are idiots who have a very real chance of dying before their time - take no notice of them. By the way, if you haven't cycled for a while why not sign up for a training course so you then be shown good habits from the start and get answers to lots of questions.
foxyrider

Post by foxyrider »

Barks wrote:That are idiots who have a very real chance of dying before their time - take no notice of them. By the way, if you haven't cycled for a while why not sign up for a training course so you then be shown good habits from the start and get answers to lots of questions.

+1
Convention? what's that then?
Airnimal Chameleon touring, Orbit Pro hack, Orbit Photon audax, Focus Mares AX tour, Peugeot Carbon sportive, Owen Blower vintage race - all running Tulio's finest!
mercalia

Post by mercalia »