Simple joy : hot drink : thermos flask

Commuting, Day rides, Audax, Incidents, etc.
Patrickpioneer

Simple joy : hot drink : thermos flask

Post by Patrickpioneer »

Yesterday, shopping, I spotted a thermos that would fit my bottle cage and this morning on my morning cold ride on the moors I was able to have a warm drink, wow what a simple blooming wonderful joy it was, why I have never done it before I will never know.
whoof

Re: Simple joy

Post by whoof »

I did a B & B tour of Devon and Cornwall last summer. As all the B&Bs have tea/coffee facilities in the room I'd make a flask of tea put it in my bottle cage and have a cuppa somewhere nice around 11 am.
rmurphy195

Post by rmurphy195 »

I keep a small thermos in my pannier or rack pack if I go out for a day ride. One of those leather-clad "Old Guys Rule" flasks, a present from my wife. Works very well - if I take the bike in the car to my start point, I fill the flask using one of those instant coffe sachets and hot water from an even bigger flask at the start of the ride, just to make sure its hot at the outset.

NB for those of you who feel I shouldn't be taking the bike in the car - living in South Birmingham I find I'm knackered by the time I reach the Peak District or the end of the Bristol-Bath cycleway and such places, let alone do the ride and get back for tea! And I'm not allowed to take the direct route to Bristol along the motorway :(
Brompton, Condor Heritage, creaky joints and thinning white (formerly grey) hair
""You know you're getting old when it's easier to ride a bike than to get on and off it" - quote from observant jogger !
LollyKat

Post by LollyKat »

whoof wrote:As all the B&Bs have tea/coffee facilities in the room I'd make a flask of tea put it in my bottle cage and have a cuppa somewhere nice around 11 am.

A friend introduced me to this trick last year. At Christmas I asked for and received a Stanley flask which fits in my saddlebag and will be perfect for the job. :)
Vorpal