Avon Cycleway

Commuting, Day rides, Audax, Incidents, etc.
Redvee

Avon Cycleway

Post by Redvee »

If you're not in the know, this is an 85 mile loop around Bristol and I've ridden parts of it I've never done the whole route in one go and feel this summer is the time to do it. I do have some knowledge of the route from riding parts of it many years ago but think parts have changed since then.
Does anybody know of a fairly recent gpx file I can download?
whoof

Re: Avon Cycleway

Post by whoof »

I don't have a personal one but found this on line.

https://www.gpsies.com/map.do;jsessioni ... anguage=en

You can also create your own in Cycletravel.

http://cycle.travel/map

I've been riding it about once a year for approximately 10 years and it hasn't changed greatly. The one change there has been is when I first started there was a sign directing you to a fly-over across the M5 but when you got there it was just a dead end ramp, a large gap and another bridge to nowhere on the other side of the motorway. A lorry had driven into the bridge sometime before and it had been removed, although this has now been replaced I usually still take my detour through the industrial estate (see second route below). There's less broken glass and burnt out mopeds and on a weekend the estate is relatively quiet. There's also a burger van on Poplar Way East, waypoint 2 on my route, usually open on Monday to Saturday but it was closed on a Saturday in January when I last rode.

route 1.jpg
hayers

Post by hayers »

I will try that route whoof - last week there was loads of glass and remnants of burnt car near the m5 bridge...

For the op was going to suggest looking here https://www.facebook.com/Avon-Cycleway-242785135751206/ but no posts since 2015 so might be a dead end...

It is well signed in most, but not all, places - i always use a map rather than gps. Years ago i picked up a free map of the whole route but not sure if they are still around.