An intro: I'm New to Cycling

Commuting, Day rides, Audax, Incidents, etc.
StartingOut

An intro: I'm New to Cycling

Post by StartingOut »

Hi Fellow Cyclists,

As my name suggests, I'm new to road cycling and am keen to get started with my new Road Bike. I will be going for my first proper ride this weekend from Barking to North Greenwich this weekend and was wondering if any experienced cyclists can give me some advice ahead of Sunday?

Also, is there a specific App anyone reccomends using for navigation as Google Maps is a bit flimsy?

Many Thanks in Advance :D
mjr

Re: An intro: I'm New to Cycling

Post by mjr »

StartingOut wrote:Also, is there a specific App anyone reccomends using for navigation as Google Maps is a bit flimsy?

I can't really help with the current state of that route but I usually load routes from https://cycle.travel/map onto OSMAnd~ when I need navigation. It's a bit fiddly and if it's too fiddly for you, I think cyclestreets.net has an app which might offer a reasonable choice for a new rider. In my experience, Google Maps is often a work of utter fiction about cycling - Streetview can be useful for checking junctions you're unsure about, but I don't use its directions.
Last edited by mjr on 29 Jun 2018, 12:51pm, edited 1 time in total.
MJR, mostly pedalling 3-speed roadsters. KL+West Norfolk BUG incl social easy rides http://www.klwnbug.co.uk
All the above is CC-By-SA and no other implied copyright license to Cycle magazine.
mercalia

Post by mercalia »

Be aware of any one who shows an interest in your bike incase they try to steal it. Is happening more in London these days
StartingOut

Post by StartingOut »

mjr wrote:
StartingOut wrote:Also, is there a specific App anyone reccomends using for navigation as Google Maps is a bit flimsy?