GPX for navigation not performance

Commuting, Day rides, Audax, Incidents, etc.
Aileen Brown

GPX for navigation not performance

Post by Aileen Brown »

I have been using a Garmin touring for 5 years all over Europe & found it fantastic for mapping but after 5 years of heavy use, the battery only lasts 5 hours if following a route or 7 hours if just recording my ride. I have asked Garmin if it is possible to replace the Battery but the best they can offer is a like for like replacement at a cost of £75. I've looked at the Garmin Edge Explore which has the bonus of a slightly bigger screen (39x65mm) & the Explore 820 which has a 58mm screen(assume diagonal) but the more performance add-ons (linking to phone apps etc) the more drain on the battery. I'd like to stick with Garmin as I have all my routes saved in Garmin connect. Do I just manage by carrying a charge pack or is there a good replacement product which prioritizes mapping over performance & offers good battery longevity so I can enjoy 200k Audax etc?
Nigel

Re: GPX for navigation not performance

Post by Nigel »

The older hand-held Etrex models would usually last 24hrs or more on one set of AA's (either rechargeable NiMH, or if extremely cold (winter Norway) on one-use lithiums). Those can have a bike mount fitted - its what I've used for more than a dozen years.

But, not as slick as the bike-specific models.
Alternative is a phone battery-extender / charge pack to power the Garmin, or a dynamo hub with USB charging output.
Cunobelin

Post by Cunobelin »

For a basic setup, first thought would be the eTrex range, many use AA batteries, and I have successfully run eTrex 20x for up to 8 hours, with some life left on a 2,400 rechargeable set

I tend to use mine for walking and geotagging, so I am out during teh day, swap batteries in teh evening and again a fresh set for the following morning.
Bez

Post by Bez »