Winter commuting tyre

Commuting, Day rides, Audax, Incidents, etc.
Therealsouthstander

Winter commuting tyre

Post by Therealsouthstander »

I've been running the excellent Vittoria voyager hyper 32mm since spring on my daily commute.
I'm now looking for something a bit more grippy in the wet and frost. I don't want to use spikes until the really bad weather arrives.

My 25 mile round commute consists of, country roads, city centre roads and a gravel track for 5 miles on the way home.

I want something quite fast if possible

I was wondering if the panaracer gravelking sk 700 35-blk would be an option or should I go with continental grand prix 4 season 32mm.?

I have no experience ridding gravel tyres so not sure how they'd ride on the road,especially when wet.

Many thanks for any suggestions
Samuel D

Re: Winter commuting tyre

Post by Samuel D »

The Continental Grand Prix 4-Season is now available in 32 mm and would be a safe choice.

Since you mention speed: a faster option would be the Pirelli P Zero Velo 4S. This tyre shares a casing with Pirelli’s racing clinchers but tests slower, which all but proves that the tread compound has higher hysteresis and therefore better wet grip. I think the biggest size is only 28 mm, however. And of course puncture resistance and durability would be a lot worse than the Grand Prix 4-Season. You have a long commute so perhaps it makes sense for you to emphasise low rolling resistance at the expense of the usual commuting qualities.
Last edited by Samuel D on 31 Oct 2018, 5:32pm, edited 1 time in total.
Scunnered

Post by Scunnered »

Jamesh

Post by Jamesh »

Wiggle own brand 28mm tyre.
Kevlar bead and nylon casing lightweight and cheap 250gms.

Cheers James
RickH

Post by RickH »