People shouting 'left' 'right' etc on a cylce path whilst approaching from behind

Commuting, Day rides, Audax, Incidents, etc.
chomango

People shouting 'left' 'right' etc on a cylce path whilst approaching from behind

Post by chomango »

I have been cycling a particular canal path for many years to commute to work - It was made into a major bicycle route a few years back joined up with road cycle routes around the city.
I
It now resembles some kind of Tour de France race track - I first noticed this when I was walking down to the canal path and was nearly knocked over by a silent but deadly cyclist on a racing bike whizzing out of a tunnel narrowly missing me.

Anyway I avoid it nowadays choosing the road as I'm tired with all of the speed cycling on what I have always thought was a leisurely cycle.

Final straw was 2 guys whizzing past me nearly knocking me and my bike into the canal, One had shouted 'left' as he flew past and the other collided with my shoulder, I wobbled a bit but thankfully didn't come off the bike and fall into the water - They both shouted swear words at me as they dissapeared into the distance at speed.

I'm not really sure what I was supposed to do in the situation, I keep to my left anyway and do look around and give way or let other cyclists overtake - The part of the canal where this happened is only really wide enough for 1 bicycle or pedestrian anyway, I would usually stop and give way to any pedestrians unless they had acknowledged and given way first.

What I don't get is what I'm supposed to do about other cyclists approaching from behind at speed - I'm not familiar with these shouting instructions, it makes no sense, and literally a few inches more to the left I would have been in the canal. Surely it's on the onus for them to slow down until it's safe to overtake.