New to commuting by bike

Commuting, Day rides, Audax, Incidents, etc.
rob22888

New to commuting by bike

Post by rob22888 »

Sick & tired of wasting my life away sitting in traffic jams, two months ago despite winter approaching I took the plunge and started commuting to work by bike. Got hold of a second hand hybrid kitted out with mudguards locally, some basic gear from Decathlon and got cracking.

Its 13 miles each way & I am currently doing around 3 times a week, keeping a keen eye on the weather forecast to pick my days. It was a bit tough at first, but I am really getting into now and absolutely loving it. I feel so much better for it mentally & physically, i'd love to be doing it everyday, but my long working hours make it a bit difficult (i'm a HGV driver). It takes me about an hour each way, which is hardly much more than it takes in the car and i'm saving a a good few bob in fuel.

I am saving the pennies now to invest in a decent road bike next year and just wanted to post on here really to encourage anybody browsing the forum who's thinking about it, to get on with it. There are a million reasons why you shouldn't, but it's one of the best things you will ever do.
Brucey

Re: New to commuting by bike

Post by Brucey »

good work fella!

cheers
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Brucey~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
reohn2

Post by reohn2 »

Good on you Rob :)
Last edited by reohn2 on 8 Dec 2019, 12:23am, edited 1 time in total.
-----------------------------------------------------------
"All we are not stares back at what we are"
W H Auden
richardfm

Post by richardfm »

I've been cycle commuting for just over two years now and agree with what you say
Richard M
Cardiff
Spinners

Post by Spinners »

Chapeau! I'm glad you're enjoying it and spreading the good news!