Data route finding

Commuting, Day rides, Audax, Incidents, etc.
northerncyclist

Data route finding

Post by northerncyclist »

Hi ...I am new to mobile phones and now have a Samsung smartphone that needs a sim card....I want to use the phone for everyday use in the U.K. ...plus route finding in the U.K. and overseas on the bicycle...Also I want to use it for booking accomodation whilst on the go (overseas) and receiving international calls (for example from my bank) .

To keep things on track I am aware maps.me works off line.... I will use wi-fi whenever possible...I dont want to watch films, you tube or play video games etc...My upcoming tours will be to Spain and Thailand and I also know about Covid !!

My question is how much data should I be looking at for cycle touring ?

Many Thanks
Psamathe

Re: Data route finding

Post by Psamathe »

An important aspect is coverage where you spend most o your time (e.g. at home). Different networks provide different coverage and different functionality to "help" provide a service. e.g. I have no mobile coverage in my house, minimal in the garden (unusable). But EE (and a couple of others) support WiFi calling where supported mobile phones transparently switch to using Wi-Fi/internet links to the network rather than phone to network base station). This despite having no GSM coverage at home, I actually have a perfect phone service (discarded my landline a couple of years ago).

So check real world what coverage you have at home and if your chosen network supports e.g. Wi-Fi calling (e.g. O2 for years didn't but instead had their own app that was a complete disaster). Don't rely on the network's own coverage maps.

Also, there are not many networks and quite a few actually run over somebody else's network e.g. Tesco don't have any base stations but run over O2 (used to) but offer different contracts and features.