Want to start mountain biking - what bike model should I buy?

Trips, adventures, bikes, equipment, etc.
krystians

Want to start mountain biking - what bike model should I buy?

Post by krystians »

Hey,

I am new to this forum - I would like to start my adventure with mountain biking and I am a newbie in this matter. I have been doing some research on bike model I could buy, but there is so much info on the topic that it is mind-blowing.

That's why I came here to seek advice from people who are passionate about it, I think it is better than reading commercial stuff.

I wouldn't like to spend more than 700 pounds.

Also, what's with the breakdown cover/insurance? Does it work the same as in the car industry? Is it totally optional, or do you recommend to get it before I start riding?

I will be grateful for your advice.

Best,
Krystian
Threevok

Re: Want to start mountain biking - what bike model should I buy?

Post by Threevok »

Hi

It would help to know what kind of mountain biking you are into, as there are different frame types for different applications

Are you looking at general XC (eg fire roads / single track) type of MTBing, or more demanding disciplines like Enduro or downhill ?
hamster

Post by hamster »

It's really difficult to generalise, a lot depends on where you live nad what kind of riding you have in mind.

At £700, then avoid the temptation to buy a full suspension bike, as it will be significantly compromised to hit the price. Front suspension is enough.

Essentially, for riding on forest paths, bridleways etc then 120mm suspension is ample (well overkill really). Many of the the MTB magazines write as though you would die riding to Tescos without 150mm of travel front and rear. :lol: