Is my new bike set up ok?

Trips, adventures, bikes, equipment, etc.
Graemecauk

Is my new bike set up ok?

Post by Graemecauk »

Hi, I've just bought a new mountain bike (Rockridge 340) mainly as a means of getting some exercise now I'm getting on a bit. It's the first bike I've ridden for nearly 20 years so I'feel like a complete novice. When I first took my bike out I had some trouble shifting between the 3 front gears. It didn't catch very cleanly. I was confused until I realised that the numbers on the left gripshift do not line up with the point at which the derailleur kicks in. I expect in time I'll get a feel for the correct position on the gripshift but is this normal? Does it suggest that I need to take the bike back to the shop for further adjustment on the gears? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Lance Dopestrong

Re: Is my new bike set up ok?

Post by Lance Dopestrong »

It could be that you're still rusty, that the gears aren't set up properly, or because the cheap Shimano twist grip gears are poor performers. Difficult to say without seeing the bike.

Welcome back to cycling BTW.
MIAS L5.1 instructor - advanded road and off road skills, FAST aid and casualty care, defensive tactics, SAR skills, nav, group riding, maintenance, ride and group leader qual'd.
Cytec 2 - exponent of hammer applied brute force.
Cyril Haearn

Post by Cyril Haearn »

When changing derailleur gears you should keep turning the pedals, but gently so the chain is free to move

As an experienced cyclist one does this without thinking :wink:

I use a hub gear, I keep turning the pedals while changing, just a bit slower

One soon develops a feel for this
Entertainer, juvenile, curmudgeon, PoB, 30120
Cycling-of course, but it is far better on a Gillott
We love safety cameras, we hate bullies
crossroads

Post by crossroads »