Temple Newsam Trail?

Trips, adventures, bikes, equipment, etc.
tbuckland4

Temple Newsam Trail?

Post by tbuckland4 »

Hi everyone.

Legend tells of an ancient (2005) off road trail running somewhere through Temple Newsam in Leeds. I walk my dog there quite often so I’m familiar with the area, but after spending an hour riding in circles this afternoon I couldn’t find it (or any evidence of it) anywhere.

On the off chance that anyone is familiar with this trail, can anyone tell me if it still exists and where it can be accessed from?

Equally it may not be up to much these days, in which case I just need to brave up and head to the trail centre (I’m still a bit of a novice so have been working up to it).
thirdcrank

Re: Temple Newsam Trail?

Post by thirdcrank »

If nobody on here knows, there are two places you might ask

https://en-gb.facebook.com/groups/SecretLeeds2/about

https://www.secretleeds.com/

Both "Secret Leeds" but AIUI the facebook was set up following some sort of dispute on the internet forum.

I'm a Leeds Loiner but I don't really know anything about riding off road. If you don't already know, before the A1/M1 Link was built and more recently the new route of the A63 was developed, the land between the Temple Newsam estate and the river was occupied by the old Skelton Grange power station, Knostrop sewage works and a lot of waste land.

(With apologies if you knew all this already.)
Paulatic

Post by Paulatic »

Have you looked at the YouTube video of it?
Should help you identify it, if you live near, as it’s all fairly wide tracks.
Whatever I am, wherever I am, this is me. This is my life

https://stcleve.wordpress.com/category/lejog/
E2E info
thirdcrank

Post by thirdcrank »