Good off-road locations???

Trips, adventures, bikes, equipment, etc.
Dapaltimboy

Good off-road locations???

Post by Dapaltimboy »

I'm new to mountain bikes.
Does anybody know any good off road cycling in & around London? It'll be great to experience more than just tarmac :D
Last edited by Dapaltimboy on 15 Oct 2008, 10:13am, edited 1 time in total.
hamster

Post by hamster »

I'd go for the North Downs. Train to Reigate / Redhill or Dorking. Buy OS Landranger 187 and you can see loads of bridleways.
workhard

Post by workhard »

hamster has got it covered if sarf or sarf west is where you want to be. If West is your thing then the Chilterns are also in easy reach of London and have great off roading, Thames Valley has hills running either side of it and some very interesting trails. Cotswolds must be do-able by train by I've done very little MTB'ing there.

From Victoria you can be in Brighton in an hour and on the South Downs 20 minutes later, and if you go SE out of London you'll find the forest ridges of the High Weald and the eastern end of the North Downs. Plenty of MTB'ing to be had if you're London based.

Don't know what Essex has to offer or the counties due north of the smoke......
Dapaltimboy

Post by Dapaltimboy »

Thanks for that hamster, i'm gonna check out that map
Dapaltimboy

Post by Dapaltimboy »

workhard, lots of info, will be looking into those options. Living SW London will also look into finding somewhere in which i could cycle to, get dirty (hopefully not too much) & back home again.

Thanks for your help
workhard

Post by workhard »

Dapaltimboy wrote:workhard, lots of info, will be looking into those options. Living SW London will also look into finding somewhere in which i could cycle to, get dirty (hopefully not too much) & back home again.

Thanks for your help