Full susser MTB to suit a 6'4" rider

Trips, adventures, bikes, equipment, etc.
Locksim

Full susser MTB to suit a 6'4" rider

Postby Locksim » 29 Jun 2012, 10:35am

Hi everyone,

Now I've overcome my road bike woes I'm after sorting out my MTB woes - currently ride a Trek Fuel EX8 50cm frame and it's giving me sever backache - despite higher stem/bars etc. It also feel incredibly skittish compared to the 2005 Specialized Enduor that i wish I'd never sold and which was larger, comfortable better at DH etc - you know the story of regrets, I'm sure.

My question is what would be a good s/h buy. I'm not an MTB expert by any means, I tend to do Ashton Court at Bristol, got scared to death by the Cwm Carn red run last weekend etc. I miss my old Enduro but can't find one on ebay.

Is there a good s/h recommendation for a tall man - I'm thinking £500-£800 max, full sus and not the skittish handling of the Trek - which I'll be selling too. Specialized FX trail FSR perhaps but its XL frame size is the same as the Trek...

Cheers

Simon

alpgirl

Re: Full susser MTB to suit a 6'4" rider

Postby alpgirl » 6 Jul 2012, 10:47pm

Probably better going on a mountain biking forum. This lot only know about touring bikes :wink:

Tango

Postby Tango » 7 Jul 2012, 7:27am

There are a number of mfrs who make large bikes, I am 6ft and ride an 18" orange 5 and that is available upto 22" frame.

As alpgirl said, checking an MTB forum will get you plenty of sound advice, a couple of the guys I ride with are similar in height to you and they chose bikes that could handle their dimensions :)
One day you life will flash before your eyes
Make sure it's worth watching!

al_yrpal

Postby al_yrpal » 7 Jul 2012, 9:13am