Fitting a Throttle to an NCM-Paris ( folding )

Electrically assisted bikes, trikes, etc.
stevenh
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Jun 2020, 9:00am

Fitting a Throttle to an NCM-Paris ( folding )

Postby stevenh » 16 Jun 2020, 9:08am

Hi just new to the forum I have a ncm make folding ebike model paris it has the past system with walk assist does anyone know would it be possible to fit a throttle to this bike if so how would I go about it.
Last edited by Graham on 16 Jun 2020, 9:10am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Title

stodd
Posts: 297
Joined: 6 Jun 2018, 10:24am

Re: Fitting a Throttle to an NCM-Paris ( folding )

Postby stodd » 16 Jun 2020, 12:20pm

There aren't many people on this forum who can answer that type of question. You may hit lucky here but I suggest you try posting at https://www.pedelecs.co.uk/forum/forums ... cussion.2/ as well.

User avatar
yakdiver
Posts: 1217
Joined: 12 Jul 2007, 2:54pm
Location: North Baddesley Hampshire

Re: Fitting a Throttle to an NCM-Paris ( folding )

Postby yakdiver » 16 Jun 2020, 1:32pm

If the bike is older than 4 year you can, anything made after january 2016 can not have a throttle by law, so if you have a recite for your bike throw it away or Photoshop the date :wink:
Alias Numbnuts

hemo
Posts: 786
Joined: 16 Nov 2017, 5:40pm
Location: West Sussex

Re: Fitting a Throttle to an NCM-Paris ( folding )

Postby hemo » 16 Jun 2020, 4:40pm

For most ebikes (with hub) you need to find the controller, follow the motor wire to lead you to the controller metal box.
From the controller you need to see if there are any spare 3 wire connectors if so you might be lucky. Sometimes a spare Speed sensor 3 wire connector might also be unused which again will be a no, you can't use the PAS wire connector as the controller programming for it is different.
If there is no spare connector then no.
As an aside some bikes use the display for a throttle to be connected but this is unusual.

If you find anything come back and we can tell you the wire sequence to wire it up correctly.

Post 2016 bikes can have a throttle but only if it is not stand alone twist an go, the area is a bit murky but if it is pedal first actuated it is deemed as not stand alone operation.