Shimano Di2 - Not Compatible

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Post Reply
jamiewestie
Posts: 1
Joined: 6 Feb 2024, 10:19am

Shimano Di2 - Not Compatible

Post by jamiewestie »

HI Guys,

I have Ultegra Di2 on a Pinarello F10. I have always updated the system by connecting the bike to a USB port on the PC and had no problems. A few days ago I updated my PC to Windows 11 and now when I try to connect I get a message telling me that the software is not compatible with the SM-BCR2 ! I tried Shimano helpline but it talks about needing an E-Tube port !!. I plug the Di2 directly into the main terminal on the bike as I have always done, so do I now need to purchase some new piece of kit? Anyone else had this problem and if so how was it sorted?

Regards,

Don
rareposter
Posts: 2238
Joined: 27 Aug 2014, 2:40pm

Re: Shimano Di2 - Not Compatible

Post by rareposter »

Are you using E-TUBE Project Professional? Cos that doesn't work with the BCR2, you need to download E-TUBE Project 3.4.5 from here:

https://bike.shimano.com/en-EU/e-tube/project.html

and update the BCR2 that way. After that you'll be using E-TUBE Project 4 rather than the older Project Professional. Works the same way though.

When you unplug it, make sure to use the "disconnect" button as well, if you just pull the cable out it can sometimes drain the battery until you reconnect it and go through the update again.

If that doesn't work, post up the version of Ultegra you're using.
User avatar
Sum
Posts: 355
Joined: 17 Jul 2010, 9:13am

Re: Shimano Di2 - Not Compatible

Post by Sum »

jamiewestie wrote: 6 Feb 2024, 10:28am HI Guys,

I have Ultegra Di2 on a Pinarello F10. I have always updated the system by connecting the bike to a USB port on the PC and had no problems. A few days ago I updated my PC to Windows 11 and now when I try to connect I get a message telling me that the software is not compatible with the SM-BCR2 ! I tried Shimano helpline but it talks about needing an E-Tube port !!. I plug the Di2 directly into the main terminal on the bike as I have always done, so do I now need to purchase some new piece of kit? Anyone else had this problem and if so how was it sorted?

Regards,

Don
Hi Jamie, rareposter has replied and posted a potential fix to your problem, which might help you. I'm interested to learn what the issue turned out to be. Could you provide an update when you're ready?
slowster
Moderator
Posts: 4790
Joined: 7 Jul 2017, 10:37am

Re: Shimano Di2 - Not Compatible

Post by slowster »

Moderator note - A large number of off-topic posts which derailled the thread have been removed. When someone starts a thread asking for help, it is especially inappropriate to make off-topic posts at the beginning of a thread before the OP's problem has been addressed and ideally resolved, even more so if it is a new member.
Post Reply